It looks like your browser is outdated. For the best experience, please consider updating to the latest version or switching to another browser (Firefox, Chrome, Safari).

Skip Navigation

Baxter Young Investigator Award

2013 Winners

FIRST-Tier Winners

Richard Keithley, Ph.D.
University of Notre Dame, South Bend - Chemistry
"Ultrasensitive Single Cell Analysis of Glycosphingolipid Metabolism"
Advisor: Norman Dovichi


Ning Sun
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign - Biochemistry
"Seamless Gene Correction of Sickle Cell Disease Mutation in Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Sells"

Advisor Huimin Zhao


Nathan Alves, Ph.D.
University of Notre Dame, South Bend - Chemical Engineering
"Utilization of the Conserved Antibody Nucleotide Binding Site (NBS): From Antibody Purification and Advanced Medical Diagnostics to Next Generation Therapeutics"

Advisor Basar Bilgicer


Seung Soo Oh, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Barbara - Materials Engineering
"Aptamer-Polymer Hybrids for Programmed Delivery of Drugs into Target Cells"

Advisor H. Tom Soh, Ph.D.


Brett VanVeller, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin, Madison - Biochemistry
"Collagen Specific Dyes for Breast Tumor Imaging" Ronald

Advisor T. Raines, Ph.D.

Second-Tier Winners

Neal Andruska
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign - Biochemistry
"Pathway-Directed Screening Reveals a Novel Pathway of Estrogen Receptor Action, Prognostic Biomarker, and Potential Therapeutic in Breast Cancer"
Advisor: David J. Shapiro

Samira Azarin, Ph.D.
Northwestern University, Evanston - Chemical Engineering
"Development of an In Vivo Metastasis Sensor Using Biomaterial Scaffolds"
Advisor: Lonnie Shea

Saradha Chandrasekhar
Purdue University, West Lafayette - Industrial & Physical Pharmacy
"Elucidating the Mechanism of Thiol-Disulfide Exchange - a Common Route to Protein Aggregation Using Model Tryptic Peptides Derived from Human Growth Hormone"
Advisor: Elizabeth M. Topp, Ph.D

Weiqiang Chen
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor - Mechanical Engineering
"Integrated Microfluidic Platform for Immunophenotyping of Subpopulations of Immune Cells"
Advisor: Jianping Fu, Ph.D.

Mamta Kapoor, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis/St. Paul - Pharmaceutics
"A Novel Prodrug/Enzyme System for Rapid Delivery of Poorly Water-soluble Drugs"
Advisor: Ronald A. Siegel, Sc.D.

Woon Teck Yap, Ph.D.
Northwestern University, Evanston - Biomedical Engineering
"Biodegradable Nanoparticle-Based Platforms for the Induction of Immune Tolerance - Therapies for Autoimmune Diseases and Allergies"
Advisor: Lonnie Shea

Ji Yi, Ph.D.
Northwestern University, Evanston - Biomedical Engineering
"New Optical Technique to Screen Colorectal Cancer"
Advisor: Vadim Backman, Ph.D.