Giving and Engaging

Working closely with public and private partners around the world to ensure people have access to the healthcare they need, to develop the next generation of innovators who will lead the way in advancing care, and to create long-lasting impact in our communities.

Prize Programs

Through its prize programs, The Baxter International Foundation celebrates excellence in community service and research.

Foster G. McGaw Prize

The Foster G. McGaw Prize honors healthcare delivery organizations for their outstanding commitment to improving the health and well-being of the people they serve through communitywide innovative collaboration. This prize, first awarded in 1986, honors and inspires hospitals and health systems to implement programs that significantly improve their communities. The Baxter International Foundation has no role in the selection of recipients or in the application process, which is managed by the program’s cosponsors, the American Hospital Association (AHA) and Health Research & Educational Trust (HRET). The annual prize awards $100,000 to a winning organization and $10,000 to three finalists.

William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research

The William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research was established in 2006 to honor the late William B. Graham, long-time CEO of Baxter International. The prize is the highest distinction that researchers in the health services field can achieve. The William B. Graham Prize acknowledges the national or international contributions of health services researchers who apply analytic methods to examine and evaluate the organization, financing, and/or delivery of health services. Awarded annually, the $50,000 prize is administered by the Association for University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA).

Episteme Award

Since 1989, the foundation has funded the Episteme Award to recognize outstanding research conducted by a nurse. The underlying purpose of the award is to reward nurses who make exceptional contributions to the health-care field. The $15,000 award is given once every two years and is administered by Sigma Theta Tau, the nursing honor society.


Baxter volunteers